Turkish Society of Orthopedics and Traumatology

Video Portal

Following the 1st International Mediterranean and Middle Eastern Orthopedics and Traumatology Congress conducted in Ankara in 1970, it has been decided to found an association under the name of Turkish Society of Orthopedics and Traumatology to coordinate the works of orthopedics and traumatology associations in our three provinces and to be able to provide a common service to all our colleagues throughout the country. Founders’ council has started its works and the foundation of our association has been completed within the same year.

Temporary Board, which started to work after the association has been officially founded, consists of the following names; Chairman Dr. Rıdvan Ege, Vice Chairmen Dr. Merih Eroğlu, Dr. Kut Sarpyener, Secretary General Dr. Şükrü Bayındır and Accountant Member Dr. Ali Akçiçek. Founder chairman of our association Dr. Rıdvan Ege has actively served as TOTBİD Chairman from 1970 to 2000. Major steps for both institutionalization of our association and the education of our colleagues have been taken during this time.

In 2000, honorary president title has been given to Prof. Dr. Rıdvan Ege who has left the presidency voluntarily. Boards of our association has been acting under the presidency of Dr. Mümtaz Alpaslan between the years 2000-2002, Dr. Remzi Tözün between the years 2002-2004, Dr. Ertan Mergen between the years 2004-2006 and Dr. Bülent Alparslan between the years 2006-2008 and Dr. Ünal Kuzgun between the years 2008-2010, Dr. Mahmut Nedim Doral between the years 2010-2011, Dr. Önder Aydıngöz between the years 2011-2013, Dr. Sait Ada between the years 2013-2015, Dr. Mustafa Başbozkurt between the years 2015-June 2017, Dr. İbrahim Halit Pınar between the period June 2017-October 2017, Dr. İrfan Öztürk between the years 2017-2019, Dr. İbrahim Halit Pınar between the years 2019-2021 and Dr. Cem Nuri Aktekin between the years 2021-2023. The Board of Directors under the presidency of Dr. Mehmet Demirhan has been in charge since November 3, 2023.

Subgroups and branches have been established within our association due to the rapid developments in medical area. As a result of this, branches of Foot-Ankle Surgery, Bone and Soft Tissue Tumors, Sports Injuries and Orthopaedic Trauma have been established. All our branch associations have been carrying their activities under TOTBİD’s supervision and by being associated to it.

A new department under the name of Turkish Educational Council of Orthopedics and Traumatology (TOTEK) has been established within our association’s structure to be able to reach our aims in educational area. TOTEK is in organization of us which acts completely independent through its own directives within the association and which deals with the education both during and after the specialization period. First TOTEK chairman is Dr. Mehmet Demirhan. After him Dr Haluk Berk, Dr. Hakan Ömeroğlu and Dr. Semih Aydoğdu, Dr. Feza Korkusuz, Dr. Volkan Öztuna, Dr. İrfan Esenkaya, Dr. İlhami Kuru, Dr. Nevres Hürriyet Aydoğan, Dr. Önder Kalenderer and Dr. Hüseyin Yusuf Yıldız has served as chairmen, respectively.  Dr. Kaya H. Akan will serve as TOTEK chairman between the years 2023-2025. As a result of caring and dense efforts of our colleagues in workgroups formed within the structure of TOTEK, our association has become an association to be taken as sample in terms of education.

Turkish Orthopedic Research Council (TOAK) was established and started its activities after being approved at the General Assembly of the Turkish Orthopedics and Traumatology Association (TOTBİD) held on 31 October 2013. TOAK Chairman of the Board of Directors was served respectively by Dr. Feza Korkusuz, Dr. Hasan Havitçioğlu, Dr. Alpaslan Şenköylü and Dr. Esat Kıter. Current board of directors is Dr. Murat Korkmaz (President), Dr. Özhan Pazarcı (General Secretary), Dr. Mustafa Akkaya, Dr. Kerem Basarir, Dr. It consists of Ahmet Emre Paksoy.

The foundations of TOTBID-AGUH Council whose main objective is to identify problems surrounding matters concerning training of residents and continuous professional training of young specialists in Turkey, and to produce solutions for these problems and to carry out activities to enhance training standards were laid in 22nd National Orthopaedics and Traumatology Congress held in 2011. Afterwards, TOTBID-AGUH Council was established by the virtue of the decision of TOTBID Executive Board in 2012, and TOTBID-AGUH Council commenced its activities under the leadership of Dr. Gazi Huri, elected as the chairman in the same year. Since then, the Council has been active in national and international platforms. TOTBID-AGUH chairman of the Board of Directors was served respectively by Dr. Gazi Huri, Dr. Safa Gürsoy, Dr. Mustafa Akkaya and Dr. Tayfun Bacaksız.  As a result of the general assembly meeting of TOTBID-AGUH during 30th National Orthopaedics and Traumatology Congress, the new Executive Board was elected, and now carries on its activities being chaired by Dr. Niyazi Ercan.

© All rights reserved. Turkish Society of Orthopedics and Traumatology.

Can't process your request at the moment.