Türk Ortopedi ve Travmatoloji Birliği Derneği


Your Relevant News and Updates from The Hip Society






Think twice before you unsubscribe.  You can unsubscribe at any time, but once you do, we won't be able to add you back, and you will be missing future announcements that might be of interest to you.  The link to unsubscribe is at the bottom of this email.



The 2017 R-R Fellows in San Diego, CA with Harry E. Rubash, MD, immediate past President of The Hip Society

The 2018 Rothman-Ranawat Traveling Fellowship


Applications are now accepted for the 2018 Hip Society's Rothman-Ranawat Traveling Fellowship. August 15, 2017 is the deadline to submit your application.


This fellowship program is open to four (4) young orthopaedic surgeons, from North America, and throughout the world.  The traveling fellows will visit up to twelve host sites in North America identified by the The Hip Society. The ultimate goal of the fellowship is to offer the young surgeons an inspirational tour of state-of-the-art facilities providing exemplary surgical care of the hip joint throughout North America.

For more information, and to download the 2018 application form, go HERE.



Don't Be Left Hanging:  Join Us At JAMM2018


January 21-24, 2018 - Park City, UT

Canyons Grand Summit Resort

The Hip Society, in partnership with The Knee Society, invite you to join us at JAMM2018 in Park City, Utah, USA, on January 21-24, 2018, for a unique and contemporary learning and networking experience designed for orthopaedic surgeons specializing in the adult hip and knee arthroplasty.

October 1, 2017 is the deadline to register.  Do not delay!  Act now!




JAMM2018 is co-chaired by Fred D. Cushner, MD, Aaron A. Hoffman, MD, Adolph V. Lombardi, Jr., MD and Christopher L. Peters, MD, and presented by stellar Hip/Knee Societies' faculty:


Robert L. Barrack, MD

Michael E. Berend, MD

Daniel J. Berry, MD

John J. Callaghan, MD

Craig J. Della Valle, MD

Kevin L. Garvin, MD

William G. Hamilton, MD

David G. Lewallen, MD

Jess H. Lonner, MD

Steven J. MacDonald, MD

David J. Mayman, MD

Douglas D.R. Naudie, MD

Douglas E. Padgett, MD

Mark W. Pagnano, MD

Wayne G. Paprosky, MD

Giles R. Scuderi, MD

Rafael J. Sierra, MD

Alfred J. Tria, Jr., MD

Geoffrey H. Westrich, MD



To download JAMM2018 brochure, with housing and other important information, click HERE.




Michael J. Taunton, MD receiving the 2017 John Charnley Award from C. Anderson Engh, Jr., MD (San Diego, CA - March 2017)

Submit Your Manuscript in Consideration for The Hip Society's Scientific Awards


The Hip Society's scientific awards are named after individuals who have made outstanding contributions to reconstructive surgery of the hip and will be based on the criteria that follow:


The Otto Aufranc and John Charnley Awards: Papers submitted in these categories are to be based on innovative research, either clinical or basic, encompassing important advances in the management of hip disorders.


The Frank Stinchfield Award: This prize is given to a resident or fellow in training who submits an outstanding contribution concerning hip problems.


TO BE CONSIDERED, submitted manuscripts must:

    * Highlight quality basic science or clinical research specifically related to the hip joint;

    * Be completely original work, and not be published in part or in whole,
       in any print publication or electronic media platform;

    * Be blinded;

    * Be in publishable format.


Awards should be submitted through CORR Editorial Manager:  https://www.editorialmanager.com/corr/default.aspx by December 1, 2017.  


Any or all of these awards are granted at the discretion of the Education Committee of The Hip Society. The presenting author of each winning    Award Paper will receive a $2,000 honorarium and a commemorative certificate. His or her co-authors will receive certificates. Award paper  presentations will take place during The Hip Society/AAHKS Winter (Open) Meeting on March 10, 2018, in New Orelans, LA (at the AAOS 2018 Annual Meeting).

Questions? Contact The Hip Society at 1 (847) 698-1638 or email hip@aaos.org.



Advanced Reconstruction: Hip 2


Developed through partnership between AAOS and The Hip Society:
* More than 150 leading surgeons share wisdom and expertise for 70+ surgical challenges.
* Strategies and step-by-step guidance from a master of each surgical technique
* Comprehensive start-to-finish coverage for virtually every challenge you are likely to encounter
* Make confident decisions with the latest evidence and the rigorous AAOS peer-review process


These all-new chapters bring you the latest thinking and techniques:
* Primary Total Hip Arthroplasty Through the Direct Anterior Approach With the Use of a Specialized Surgical Table
* Primary Total Hip Arthroplasty Through the Anterior-Based Muscle-Sparing Approach on a Standard Surgical Table
* Primary Total Hip Arthroplasty With Short Stems
* Evaluation of the Infected Total Hip Arthroplasty
* Revision Total Hip Arthroplasty: The Evaluation of Metal-on- Metal Total Hip Arthroplasty
* Revision Total Hip Arthroplasty: Revision of Metal-on-Metal Hip Implants
* Revision Total Hip Arthroplasty: Taper Corrosion After Total Hip Arthroplasty: Evaluation and Management
* Acetabular Revision With Cup-Cage Constructs












The Hip Society, 9400 W. Higgins, Suite 500, Rosemont, IL 60018



Sent by hip@aaos.org in collaboration with



© Tüm hakları Türk Ortopedi ve Travmatoloji Birliği Derneği’ne aittir.

İşleminiz gerçekleştiriliyor. Lütfen bekleyiniz...